The internet home for Hoos anywhere and everywhere.

Virginia Tennis Board

1969hoo

Joined: 5/20/99 Posts: 15075
Likes: 695


I have never seen that done. It seems to be a sure way to lose a match,


especially if calling balls good on serves when they are 5/6 inches out carries over to other crucial line calls. I cannot imagine why Singh would have done this. In any reasonably close tennis match at any level if one player gives the benefit of the doubt on line calls to his opponent and one does not, I think we know who will win.

I think back to all of those ever so close USC losses in the NCAA's and wonder how many more Natty's we would have won if we had not given the benefit of the doubt to USC on line calls.Most here seem to think USC consistently cheated/cheats on line calls. The two teams were very evenly matched in all of those losses.

Thankfully we finally broke through in 2013 vs UCLA, where we won only because the chair umpire ruled a UCLA player barely touched the net on what would have been the team winning shot by UCLA vs. Mitchell Frank I was sitting right there and did not see him touch the net, I wonder who gets to make that call when there is no chair umpire?

Thankfully the shot spot technology has eliminated line call controversies in the pros and they have even lines people. I do kind of miss McEnroe's antics over line calls. Pro tennis and pro golf have very few 'characters' left, Talk about your plain vanilla athletes. I think it hurts TV ratings and ultimately their popularity.



[Post edited by 1969hoo at 09/23/2017 09:01AM]

(In response to this post by WahooFla)

Posted: 09/23/2017 at 08:57AM



+0
Current Thread:

Get the Sabre Edge!

Subscribe to TheSabre.com!

Support Us by Shopping at Amazon

vm311