The internet home for Hoos anywhere and everywhere.

Virginia Baseball Board

HOOSNICE

Joined: 10/17/07 Posts: 24233
Likes: 2482


No, lol. Anything but simple. Maybe on the box score but the reality was


that what transpired is anything but a simple sac fly. The RF misjudged the ball then made the diving catch which allowed Murphy to tag from 2nd to 3rd, but when the fielder dropped the exchange and booted the ball, Murphy was able to 'steal' home.

So what is typically a routine fly with no advancement, turned into a sac fly because of the dive, then essentially (in reality) an error by the fielder allowed the runner to advance another base.

I get the limitations of the scorer here, but anything but routine or simple as you make it out to be. If you saw the play you would agree. Sometimes the box score doesn't tell the whole story.

(In response to this post by WAYoVerraTed)

Posted: 07/18/2017 at 09:47AM



+0
Current Thread:
  Maybe I don't understand the description, -- rdsmhs 07/17/2017 3:32PM
  Here's the vid. -- Lazarus 07/17/2017 3:48PM
  Got it. -- rdsmhs 07/17/2017 6:20PM

Get the Sabre Edge!

Subscribe to TheSabre.com!

Support Us by Shopping at Amazon

vm309