The internet home for Hoos anywhere and everywhere.

Virginia Tennis Board

Message Board HomeBoard Home All BoardsAll Boards What's New?What's New? SearchSearch

2CentsWorth

Joined: 8/30/13 Posts: 1712
Likes: 21


This is correct. A FUNDAMENTAL principle of tennis rules enforcement is


that you never get two chances to win the same point. That is, if the guy wants to be douchy and claim a hindrance, he can... but he must stop the point and claim hindrance as soon as he's allegedly hindered.

The Code does not allow him to get "hindered", then line up his shot, then swing at it, then wait to see whether he hit a good shot, THEN decide to call hindrance if the ball goes out.

The test is basically: would he have taken the point if his overhead had gone in? If the answer is yes (and, assuming, your "hindering" didn't happed during his swing) then he doesn't get a second chance to win that point.


(In response to this post by hoomonger)

Posted: 04/20/2017 at 7:17PM



+1


Current Thread:
  It was your point -- Wahoos79 04/21/2017 09:45AM
  They actually ended up looking up the rule -- DougC 04/20/2017 6:01PM
  This is a good summary ** -- T Room Cav 04/22/2017 09:12AM
  I mean hinderance. here's the rule: -- hoomonger 04/20/2017 5:38PM
  I have seen the same call made against my son -- BrevardHoo 04/20/2017 3:25PM
  No, delay makes it 100% wrong ** -- hoomonger 04/20/2017 11:12PM
  I'm a senior at Randolph college in Lynchburg -- DougC 04/20/2017 5:55PM
  Hi, Doug. I went to college at -- mtbrookwahoo 04/21/2017 6:12PM
  Nice, is the season over now? ** -- BrevardHoo 04/21/2017 09:03AM
  We have one more match against Shenandoah -- DougC 04/21/2017 10:34AM
  Opponent is a douchebag. -- MunichHoo 04/20/2017 12:36PM
  Your opponent seems like a beta male ** -- jhmoss1812 04/20/2017 12:19PM
vs307